The Governors of our school are responsible, with Mr Smith our Head Teacher, for running the school.  We are elected for a term of four years and include representatives of the local community, the local authority, the parents and staff. 

 Although the day-to-day management of the school is the concern of Mr Smith and staff, we help make sure that the school meets its legal obligations and provides an education and ethos which works with the wishes and aspirations of our community.  

We work closely with the school staff and give support and advice.  We meet at least once a term and we have sub-committees that look at Teaching and Learning and Resources/Finance.

If you would like to find out more about our roles, or would be interested in becoming a Governor for Wansdyke Primary, please e-mail the school on who will put you in touch with our Chair.

We currently have a vacancy for a Parent Governor - please contact the office on 0117 9030218 for more details.


These are our current governors:

Chair of Governors - Mr Oliver Chambers (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Angela Fumpson (Co-opted Governor)

Mr Paul Cairns (Parent Governor and Vice Chair)

Mrs Pauline Getter (Staff Governor)

Mrs Liz Hackling (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Kath Iles (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Louise Leacy (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Joanne Leonard (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Hayley Morris (Co-opted Governor)

Mr Tristan Reid (Associate member)

Ms Susan Young (Associate member)

Mr Adam Smith (Head Teacher)


Clerk to Governors - Mrs Elspeth Tranter


To see full details of all of the governors, please click here.  

To see our Instrument of Governance, please click here

To check our Register of Business Interests, please click here